How to Delete Your League of Legends Account?

Have you ever got so much tilted that you wanted to actually delete your beloved League of Legends account? Well, if you were serious, in this article you'll learn how to deactivate or completely delete your League of Legends account for good!

There are different reasons why someone would want to either deactivate or delete their League of Legends account. Before you jump in and delete your Riot account, it’s important to know that this is a multi-game feature, so if you were to delete your Riot account, it is going to have an affect on any Riot game you have tied to it. 

What this means is that the actions you make on the account could suspend or erase your account along with its associated progress for all of the games you have on the account. This sounds harsh, so we want to make sure you have all of the knowledge you need when it comes to deleting your League of Legends account. So, let’s move forward and talk about deleting and deactivating accounts. 

Difference between Account Deactivation and Account Deletion

In this paragraph we will be explaining the difference between deleting your League of Legends account, and deactivating it. When you delete your LoL account all of your information will be deleted from Riot Games database. However, if you choose to deactivate your account, Riot Games will still keep all of your information.

Is there a difference between account deactivation and account deletion? Account deletion is going to permanently delete all of your personal information that is associated with that account. Before you delete it, you need to be 100% sure you’re making the right decision because once you delete it, you will not be able to access your account again. Once the account is gone, you cannot change your mind because you won’t be able to bring it back.

Account deactivation is a bit different. When you choose to deactivate your account, access to the account will be restricted, but all of the data on that account will remain untouched. Basically, you won’t be able to log into that account once it’s deactivated, but the information will stay on the Riot Games database. If you change your mind, you can simply request an account deactivation reversal. When it comes to an account deactivation, just remember that it won’t prevent your rank from decaying.

How to Deactivate League of Legends Account

Before we tell you how to delete a League of Legends account, we first wanted to explain how to deactivate it. Before you jump in there and request to have your account deactivated, take note that it is perfectly fine to simply leave your account active, even if you don’t plan on using it. By leaving your account active, it won’t be deleted or harmed in any way. 

To deactivate the account, you can submit a ticket to Riot Games Player Support and include the following information: 

In this step we'll be explaining you how to successfully delete your League of Legends account for good. Be aware that you won't be able to recover your LoL account after you do this.
  • Ticket Subject: Account Deactivation
  • Summoner Name (the name your friends see when you’re in the game). 
  • Account Name (the name you log in to the League of Legends client with).
  • The creation date of your account. 
  • The server you play on.
  • The email address you used when you registered your account. 
  • The location you registered your account from 

If you have any paying information on your account, then you should delete that before you deactivate the account. 

Account Deletion

Moving forward, we are going to discuss account deletion. 

How long does it take to delete an LoL account?

The deletion process will begin 30 days after Riot Games have received the deletion request. During this time, you will no longer have access to your account. Once the deletion process has started, it will be impossible for you to recover the account, so before you delete it, please be 100% sure you would like to have it deleted for good.

If you just so happen to change your mind right after you confirm your deletion request, you can try to respond to the ticket as soon as possible to stop the deletion process, but this is not promised. If you do not let Riot Games know at least five days in advance of the deletion date, then they may not be able to save your Riot account. 

If you would like to make a data request, make sure you do so before starting the deletion process. This is something that will need to be done in a different ticket. 

Can you Use Your Information after the Account is Deleted?

For thirty days following the deletion request, your username will still exist. All of the other information, such as your Summoner Name, Riot ID, and email address, will be inaccessible. 

How do I get my Account Deleted?

Account deactivation has pretty much the same effect as account deletion. Once you deactive your account it won't be possible for you to access the account again.

If you would like to permanently delete your League of Legends account, log in and send a ticket with the following information: 

  • Summoner Name (the name your friends see in the game).
  • Account Name (the name you use to log in to the LoL Client).
  • The original email address you used to register the account.
  • The location you registered the account from (City and Country). 
  • Have you purchased RP on the account? If so, list the payment methods you used. 

What if I cannot Provide this Information?

If, for some reason, you are unable to provide the information that is required, Riot Games may need additional information from you in regards to your account so that they can verify ownership. These steps are not taken to make your life complicated. They are taken to ensure the security of all accounts.

Can you Use Your Information after the Account is Deleted?

For thirty days following the deletion request, your username will still exist. All of the other information, such as your Summoner Name, Riot ID, and email address, will be inaccessible. 

How do I get my Account Deleted?

If you would like to permanently delete your League of Legends account, log in and send a ticket with the following information: 

How can I speed up the account deletion progress?

You can speed up the process by sending a few emails to Riot Games Support center.

Can I create a new account using the email I used on the old account?

Once you delete the account, Riot Games will delete all of your information. So, to answer your question, yes, you will be able to use your previous email on the new account.

Let’s say I change my mind after 30 days, is there a way to recover my account?

Unfortunately it’s not possible to recover your account after 30 days since all of your information will be deleted by then.

Conclusion

So now that you know how to delete your account, whether you delete it, deactivate it, or just let it sit there is entirely up to you. Honestly, what we would do is just let the account is there so that you can return anytime you like. 


Written by Spezzy

My mission is to provide you with the newest and the most fun-to-read League of Legends News!