5 Things You Should Know About the League of Legends Ranked System

Ranked system in League of Legends has received a significant changes 2 years ago, but there are still some players that don't understand how big were the changes. In this article we've listed the 5 most important facts that you should know about the League of Legends ranked system

When patch 9.2 was first released for League of Legends, a new ranking system was attached to it. It’s actually one of the most significant changes LoL players have seen in years, and it took place in 2019. With this big revamp, there were some major changes, specifically to the ranked system, which we are going to go over. 

Placement Games and Provisional Rankeds

With the addition of a provisional rank, placement games have been changed. Now, provisional ranked shows the lowest rank a player will be placed in with their current performance – these ranks aren’t going to go down, even if the player loses a match or two. However, it can increase when the player wins a match. 

There are Three Splits

Each season is split up into three different parts, with each one lasting around three months, without there being any breaks between. The first split, for example, ends around mid-April. Winning a ranked game will get you some Split Points. Split points aren’t going to carry over into the next split, so make sure you use them before the current split ends. 

Seasonal and Split Reward

You can spend your split points on unique, split-specific rewards. Take Ranked Armor as an example; this is something that evolved to reflect both the player Split Point and rank achievements. Regardless of your rank, this armor can be affected and upgraded by winning matches. End-of-season rewards, on the other hand, are unaffected by Split Points.

Position Ranks

Position Ranks will give you a position-specific rank as well as a matchmaking rating. This action will help even out the ladder by acknowledging that players come in with different skill levels at different times and roles. Wins and losses can have an impact on the rank for that position, but they do bleed over into other positions, which helps entice each player to do their best when they’re playing off-roll as well as making sure their overall ranks are equivalent, so they don’t end up with a Master III mid-laner playing Jungle when they’re only in Silver II game. 

New Ranks

A couple of years ago, two new ranks were introduced – Grandmaster and Iron. Iron is the lowest tier, which is beneath Bronze, while Grandmaster can be found sitting between Master and Challenger. Each rank has now been split into a total of four divisions, down from five. These changes have been made in order to help spread the player base out so that their ranks more accurately reflect their standing as well as their skill. 

For more info on the LoL ranks and the ranking system as a whole, check out our page.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (5 votes, average: 4.80 out of 5)